Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to footer

Armistice Day 2020

Due to restrictions introduced and lack of timely information the Town Council conducted the laying of the wreath, which would normally be done on Armistice Day (11th November) a week early.

I was joined by the Mayor’s Beadle and the Chaplain to the Royal British Legion. We had an incredibly poignant time where Rev Peter Bevan and I called out the names on the roll of honour. A Bible passage was read by my Beadle and Rev Peter Bevan said prayers and of course, it was an honour to lay a wreath in remembrance to all who have given so much for today’s freedom.

Cllr Keely Allin
Mayor of Great Torrington


1914 – 1918

Royal Navy

Ernest Copp
Robert Henry Palmer
Arthur Ernest Lillington Rudd
Herbert Richard Tanton
Ernest Ware


Thomas Henry Adams
Richard Alford
Lawrence Ashton
William Henry Baker
Arthur Battison
Arthur Bennett
Clifford Bennett
Michael Beer
Thomas Henry Bidgway
John Stanley Blake
Leslie Honeychurch Blake
Gilbert Bowden
Eustace Gilbert Bowhay
Stanley Bright
Frank Buckland
William Budd
Henry Cannon
Robert Harold Capell
Frederick Colwill
Cedric Copp
Lawrence Couch
Charles Cudmore
Alfred Darch
Archibald Davey
Edgar Davey
John Herbert Davey
Henry Frain
Bertram Furseman
Eric Green
Walter Green
Alfred Guard
John Courtney Hancock
Charles Leonard Heale
Walter Heard
Henry Hearn

William Heywood
William Bertram Holwill
James Hutchings
William Henry Johns
Ernest Lake
Claude Ewart Leate
Percival Jefferies Lile
Theodore Lugg
Archibald Eric Luxton
John G Macindoe
Percy Marley
Arthur Martin
William Martin
Ernest Harry Thomas Morse
Harry Nicholls
Thomas Oke
Ernest Parkhouse
Archibald Ernest Passmore
William Rooke Passmore
Claude John Pearce
Walter Penny
Henry Petherbridge
John Pincombe
Jack Popham
William Popham
John Rew
Stephen Rowe
Percival Slade 
William Henry Slee
John Small
William Squires
Archibald Alfred Sutcliff
Walter Thorne
Henry Trott
George Twiggs
William Vodden
Thomas Ware
John Weeks
Frederick Stanley Winson

Royal Air Force

Herbert James Evans
Alan Parnell
Lionel Ward

1939 – 1945

Royal Navy

Arthur Alexander
Edward Halfyard


Alfred George Allin
Kenneth Baker
Leslie Ball
Harry Victor Bell
Leon Dalberti
Harold Furseman
Percy Gerry Francis
Frederick Loosemore
William John Lugg
Clifford Mitchell
Percy Slade
Wilfred Sluman
Douglas Sussex
Austin Sutton
John George Walker
Hugh David Walker

Royal Air Force

Jack Newcombe


Joan Philp