Tuesday, 09 May 2017 15:18

Round the Tree Race 2017

Rate this item
(0 votes)

There was a tremendous turnout again this year for this fantastic event, the weather was perfect and the Square was packed with both supporters and competitors. There were approx 223 entries, of which 75 were men, 87 were women and 61 juniors ranging in ages from 11 to 17.

There were members from Bideford AAC, Ilfracombe RC, Bude Rats, South Molton Strugglers, North Devon Road Runners, North Devon Triathletes, Torrington Boxing Club, Torrington Rugby Club, Torridgeside Youth Football Club, Function Fitness, GTS, Marland School, Torrington Army Cadet Force and our very own running club – Torrington Amateur Athletic Club.  As well as the clubs we also had people from the town who are not runners taking part and achieving great results. The top 3 of each category were as follows:-

Mens - SM                                         Mens - VM                                  Mens - VM50                             Mens - VM60

1st -  Mark Jenkin                             1st - David Cutler                       1st - Nick Percival                    1st - Stephen Parish

2nd - Dominic Scotting                    2nd - Wayne Hill                        2nd - Gavin Burnside               2nd - Leslie Reed

3rd - Chris Byron                              3rd - Steve Watson                    3rd - Chris Stone                      3rd - David Bates


Womens - SF                                    Womens - VF                              Womens - VF45                         Womens - VF55

1st - Eevee-May Banbury               1st - Lyndsay Ayres                     1st - Oonagh Wilson                1st - Marilyn Blair

2nd - Miriam Kimber                       2nd - Beth Temple-Thurston        2nd - Steph Olliffe                    2nd - Lorrie Woolgar

3rd - Chloe Kenneally                    3rd - Geraldine Bishop                 3rd - Pauline Pyke                   3rd - Marjet Patterson


Juniors - JM13                                 Juniors - JM16                            Juniors - JF13                           Juniors - JF16

1st -  Ben Tolson                               1st - Flynn Jennings                   1st - Emily Forwood                   1st - Eliza Banbury

2nd - Harvey Reeves                       2nd - Dylan Dayman                  2nd - Taryn Powe                       2nd - Neve Cox

3rd -  Noah Bradley                          3rd - Ben Brown                          3rd - Ailis Temple-Thurston      3rd - Nell Gierke


The Deputy Mayor was delighted to attend the event and give out prizes to the winners - some of which can be seen in the photos below:-


  Boxing Club                       Chloe Kenneally                  Chris Stone                          Dom Gordon                     Eevee-May Banbury


  Gavin Burnside                    Marilyn Blair                      Pauline Pyke                      Steph Olliffe                        Miriam Kimber            

Read 581 times Last modified on Wednesday, 10 May 2017 08:23
Login to post comments